Rants

My reaction to the Manchester bombing

I’m going to attempt to do this all in one take while it’s fresh in my head.

Advantages: There are a few things I want to say and this will probably allow me to get them out all at once.

Disadvantages: As per usual, it will probably consist of a lot of word vomit that will need revision later on.

That said, here it goes.

First and foremost, my most heartfelt condolences go out to all the people affected by the terrorist attack that took place in Manchester yesterday. Obviously any attack of that nature on innocent people is vile and absolutely repulsive, but the fact that a large portion of the victims were children somehow made an already awful act even worse.

If you’re familiar with my blog or have ever taken two seconds to look at who actually retweets all those anti-trump tweets that are popping up on your timeline, you probably know I’m not a fan of the guy.

Today, however, he hit the nail on the head by expressing yesterday’s attacks as the actions of “evil losers” because that’s exactly what they are: evil fucking losers.

Now, it’s not that it takes any particular kind of courage to call a terrorist an “evil loser” because there really isn’t much else to fit that profile, but I’m happy that he made the statement.

What I’m not so happy with is the general reaction from a lot left leaning media outlets, journalists, pundits, and the rest of the crew for how they immediately reacted to the situation.

Here are some reasons why:

First of all, like Dave Rubin stated this morning, “if your concerns are about anyone other than the victims, or your anger is aimed at anyone other than the perpetrators and their ideology, then you are part of the problem.” Be a human being for a second and put your politics aside.

For instance, here’s a prime example of what not to do/say:

And I just have one question for dear Brianna Wu, Candidate for US House of Representatives in MA District 8, is it exhausting being this fucking stupid or do you just get used to it after a while?

That’s all I’m going to say on that because I think the shallowness of that thought is self-evident.

Secondly, I saw quite a few people criticizing Trump for calling the perpetrators of the attack “evil losers”. The gist of the criticism was that it sounded childish. I have a simple suggestion for those people: get over yourselves, get over your politics.

Okay, so Trump is not the most eloquent person in the world, sure, we knew that already. However, people who blow themselves up and kill innocent children do not deserve to be described as anything else. They do not even deserve our hate. They deserve our sorrow.

As a matter of fact, I liked how Trump said, “I would call you monsters, but you would probably like that.” Which, in a way, is the greatest ‘fuck you’ he could have ever given them.

It reminded me of Antoine Leiris’ letter to the terrorists who killed his wife at Bataclan Theater in Paris on November 13, 2015. He wrote, “If this God for which you kill indiscriminately made us in his own image, every bullet in the body of my wife will have been a wound in his heart. So no, I do not give you the gift of hating you.”

My point being, the idea is the same. One a little more polished than the other, sure, but the concept is the same. Yet some people tend to put politics before compassion. Trump does a lot of things in the shittiest way possible, but criticizing the way he denounces a terrorist group is really amongst the least of my worries when it comes to his job as commander in chief. As I said earlier, if you have a problem with his description of some low-life piece of shit who kills innocent people, get over yourself.

Moving on. This is the part of my ‘reaction’ that I have not fully thought out yet, but I’m gonna do my best to explain what I’m feeling.

The problem is not islamophobia. That’s probably the first time I’ve really contradicted some past opinions of mine but, yes, you read that right: the problem is not islamophobia.

There comes a point, and I’ve reached that point, where one should at least be partially done with looking at this issue inwardly and asking “man, what could have the West done differently to prevent these acts of terrorism perpetrated by Radical Islam?” and begin looking at this situation outwardly and asking, “what the fuck is wrong with these people and why is there not a stronger opposition within members of their own community to try and put a stop to this?”

After the things we’ve seen happen in Paris, Brussels, and now Manchester, not to mention many, many others, I refuse to sit here and think, “boy oh boy, if only we had just been a little nicer to the Muslim community, this would have never happened.”

Shit, Corrado. Did you just say that all Muslims are to be blamed for what happened in Manchester? No, that is not what I’m saying. The actions of a few do not mirror the feelings of an entire population, particularly when that population is made up of some billion odd members.

But I’m not gonna sit here and tell you that if only the United States had adopted a more Muslim-friendly immigration policy, it could have prevented these attacks. That’s horseshit.

That’s nonsense. Terror doesn’t care about the way it’s being treated. Terror is terror. Period. It needs no explanation. It needs no excuses. Goat-fuckers-international (ISIS) is a group of low-life pieces of shit who deserve to rot in the darkest corner of hell.

And I understand that the decades of fighting, interference, and destabilizing from other nations like the United States is what led to their rise in the first place, but trying to find excuses for their behavior now is only going to lead us to more and more attacks like we saw in Manchester.

I don’t want to see that anymore. I know that any sentient human being would agree with that. So let’s start working with the facts that we have right in front of us and stop arguing based on these totally made up kumbaya principles.

There is evil in the world; it is okay to think that it is being perpetrated by a group that is not your own; it is okay to point fingers and say stop; it is okay to admit that one ideology is worst than another.

Islamophobia is not the cause of these problems and it is a term too loosely thrown out there in today’s language. Islamophobia implies a state of irrational fear for a set of ideas, when in reality there is nothing irrational about the fear of Radical Muslim Extremists.

Whether you believe that Radical Muslims make up a tiny minority of the total Muslim population, or an overwhelming majority of the total Muslim population, it is okay to think that the United States and other western nations should spend more time encouraging the moderate portion of Islam to ban inhumane institutions such as Sharia Law and less time appeasing for the Radicals’ behavior.

I’m still wrestling with many of these thoughts to try and figure out what I would consider the best course of action when it comes to these issues, and this post does in no way a good enough job at exploring the depths of this topic – it barely even scratches the surface – but I’m just done trying to explain why the West is at fault for some lunatic blowing himself up at a concert for the sake of fairness or correctness.

As I said at the beginning, this was written all in one take and it will probably need revising. However, it’s a good reflection of my initial thoughts in regards to this.

For now it is all, till next time.

Krato

 

 

Leave a Reply

