Politics

Checking in 12 days on

Last week I spoke about my general reactions to the election. As boring as it may seem for some people to continue hearing about the same ol’ shit, that’s exactly what I’m going to talk about again today.

So, in a sense, this is sort of a reaction to a reaction.

I wanted to make sure I followed up on last week’s message because I think I painted too pretty of a picture. Or maybe I didn’t. Okay, let me explain.

In case you didn’t read my initial reaction to the election, it was essentially this: give Trump a chance.

And that’s what I still believe today, we should give Trump a chance. I’m content with how I worded that message and I think it reflects the better portion of what the rational Krato thinks.

What I’m not-so-content with, on the other hand, is the lack of representation that the irrational Krato got. Actually, it’s not even irrational; it’s just more gut feeling-ish.

Because as much as I attempted to come off as “everything is going to be just dandy, let’s give him a chance,” it might not actually be. And that’s just a feeling, like I said, but nonetheless it’s a feeling that should not be ignored.

To tell you the full truth, I’m pretty fucking scared about Trump. And here’s the thing that’s sort hypocritical about that fear…I’ll be fine. Nothing will happen to me during the Trump presidency. I’m a well off white male, or at least, my family is well off. My life will not change dramatically.

However, it might not be as dandy for other groups across the country. You know who those groups are, you don’t need me to list them.

So, getting back to the point. If you are part of one of the groups that’s probably going to be affected by a Trump presidency, what you’re feeling is legitimate, and I did a shitty job of sympathizing with that fear in my last post.

That said, I’d like to take a brief look at why that fear is legitimate.

To me, the scariest thing about Trump is not that WE don’t know what he’s going to do, but that HE doesn’t know what he’s going to do. He really does not. And that’s fucking terrifying.

He’s surrounding himself with a bunch of incompetent people (and that’s putting it mildly) and he’s already began to show us glimpses of what a Trump presidency could look like – in the worst of scenarios.

For instance, his tweet following Hamilton’s cast’s message to VP Pence. Yes, it’s “just” a tweet, but folks, you gotta keep in mind, this is the President of the United States publicly asking a group of people to apologize for exercising their right to free speech – a right which, by the way, was used in no way offensively towards Pence.

So my question is, what happens to journalists everywhere? Are they going to be sidelined and restricted in their opinions because there is a narcissist in the White House who can’t bare let criticism reach his fragile ears?

That’s just one of many examples. What I’m trying to say is, there is a possibility in a Trump presidency in which he means every single word he says. I think my last post was written with a lot more optimism because…I’m not sure, it’s good to be optimistic in times of little hope.

But after much reconsideration, I’ve concluded that it’s also right to recognize a Trump presidency for what it could be in the worst of scenarios. In case you want to read a much darker version of what I talked about, I highly suggest reading Masha Gessen’s, Autocracy: Rules for Survival. 

I think her depiction of the worst case scenario is unlikely, but a possibility nonetheless.

I have more to say on this topic, and on the election in general. However, I’m not exactly sure how to word it. I would rush it and try to spew thoughts down as fast as I can, but I want to keep it polished while simultaneously sticking to my objective of posting once a week.

My hope is that, perhaps, if I start posting with a certain regularity, it might magically spark people’s response. That way, in case I do have extra thoughts on a subject, I’ll be able to express them through conversation rather than a one way street down Krato’s brain.

Alrighty, that’s all I got for now. Let me know if you have any thoughts. Peace and blessings.

Toodaloo

Leave a Reply

