Rants

Why is it so fucking easy to focus on the bad side of things?

I wanna have a talk with whoever made the human brain so susceptible to the 1 negative thing going on around us as opposed to the 1000 positive ones,

and slap him silly.

Seriously, fuck that guy.

Why do I this to myself? Why do we all do this to ourselves? Jesus freaking Christ. My life is going fucking amazing. It’s perfect. It’s literally perfect.

But no, some fuck said one thing about me that I didn’t appreciate, and here I am crying about it like a little bitch on the internet.

Why?!?!? Why must you do this?? You, whoever the fuck “you” are. Why? What did I ever do to you? I’m just a kid who goes to school and wants to be happy. Why you gotta fuck with me like that?

*Breaks the 4th wall*

Oh hey, didn’t see you there. I suppose I should make this somewhat relatable, right?

Well, I fucking can’t.

I don’t know what else I can say besides “don’t you hate that freaking feeling?” We all do it! I don’t know why. Some of us more than others, but we all do it. We hear that one thing that ticks us off aaaand boom. It’s like our whole day went to shit.

But since I’ve written “why” at least 17 times since the beginning of this post, I might as well try.

(Side note: remember when my ‘blog’ posts were coherent? Yeah, me neither.)

I think that whenever something bad happens to us, we immediately wanna share it with someone. We want someone to sympathize with our pain/discomfort/whatever you wanna call it, yet we don’t wanna be little shits who just complain all the time.

It’s a pretty tough balance if you think about it. You don’t wanna be going around talking about how awesome your life is, cause then you just look like a douche. But you don’t wanna go around talking about how miserable you are either, cause nobody wants to be around that.

So what do we do? We try to have that conversation in our head; we try to internalize whatever it is that may have happened to us, and we don’t realize that by doing so we’re just magnifying its effects. And we just keep doing it till eventually it gets flushed out of our system (or, if you’re like me, till you throw a tantrum about it on the internet).

I mean, think about it. Whenever that one thing that ticks us off happens, who do we tell?? From my personal experience I can say that it’s almost always nobody. I don’t tell anyone. Because I don’t wanna bitch to them. Because it’s not cool. Because I don’t wanna annoy them. So I sit. I just sit in my little ball of anger and confusion.

And that would be fiiiiiine, if we did it once every blue moon. But we do it all the time. Shit, at least I know I do. I don’t think I’m alone on this am I? You’re having a great day, people are smiling, sun is shining, you’z happy…but that one guy who was kind of a big deal in middle school talked shit about you. Day ruined. Fuck you.

So what I’m trying to get at here, is that we suck at communicating. We are terrible. We are so bad, my goodness. We are atrocious. I think that way because it’s literally our unwillingness to process our thoughts and present them to someone else that “makes us bare those ills we have than fly to others we know not of” – William Shakespeare. Love my boi Billy, had to show some love.

But seriously! I think we get so caught up in a “I can’t complain because if I do it’ll just cause people to talk even more shit” type of mentality, that we just fuck ourselves over even more and start overthinking everything aaaaand boom. Day ruined. Fuck you again.

Our inability to sympathize with one another has gotten so bad that we are even trying to make grievances sound cool! How stupid can we get?!?! “Dude, I took the fattest L this morning.” Shut the fuck up, no you didn’t. Explain yourself. Stop with this ‘I took an L’ nonsense.  It’s okay to express yourself in a way that takes more than 2 minutes, even if it’s about something that other people consider stupid or childish or whatever it may be.

Of course there is a limit to that too. But you should at least attempt to find that limit, instead of either: A. Keeping it to yourself and ruining your entire day, B. trying to make your problems sound cool and hip by using neologisms such as “taking L’s”, and C. bitching about it on the internet like I’m doing.

But fuck, that’s hard man.

It’s really, really difficult. Cause we don’t fucking listen anymore. Yeah. That’s my take on it. That’s my thesis. We focus on the one thing that’s bad instead of the hundreds going positively because we don’t wanna come off as pretentious little shits whose lives are unbelievably and incomprehensibly difficult. And that is just due to us not being able to format our thoughts properly/our inability to sympathize with others.

What do you think causes this shitty behavior of ours?

Let me know in the comments below.

Lol, just kidding. No one fucking reads this shit.

Okay I lied, some people do. But no one replies to this shit. Whatever. I’m going to bed. Till next time,

Toodaloo

 

2 thoughts on “Why is it so fucking easy to focus on the bad side of things?

  1. Wow. I fully and 100% percent agree with this! It’s hard when you try to refocus on the positive aspects, but the negative just creeps back in. It makes us sound unappreciative of the positive that happens to us, but in reality that isn’t the case at all! It’s just so damn hard when negative shit is mean or crude. Hundred percent feels my friend. I read, heard and am replying. KEEP DOIN YOU!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

