Uncategorized

My Olympic dream (sorta, not really, but kinda)

Since this “blog” is the biggest collection of incoherent thoughts that go through my head, I might as well talk a little bit about my biggest passion in life: running.

So yeah…I like running, but for the past two years running hasn’t liked me very much in return. Actually, it hasn’t liked me back at all. Two seasons ago when I was at Whittier College, I had the worst season of my life. Wasn’t totally my fault, wasn’t totally the coach’s fault either, just a very solid mix of both.

Last season, on the other hand,  was a whole different story. My body just kinda decided to poop on me. That’s probably the best way I can describe it. My body pooped on me. I went to the doctor and he was like, “Yup, this is a classic case, Corrado. Your body is pooping on you.”

I couldn’t put together four consecutive days of exercise to save my life. My body just gave up on me. I kept getting hurt and it would not stop happening. After I got injured for the first time, I took every precaution possible but nope…my body would just continue to fail me.

Eventually with about 2 months left in the track season, I decided to call it quits. I wanted to take time for myself to refocus, (hopefully) heal, and just chill out for a while.

But…my depressing time as an injured athlete is a story I will tell another time. What I really want to talk about today are my ambitions. Let’s think positive here, people.

I’m trying to think of a cool way to introduce this topic but I can’t come up with anything so I’ll just go ahead and tell you:

I want to qualify for the 2020 Olympic Trials in the 800m.

Now hold your horses before any questions, comments, concerns, or exclamations of blasphemy. A few things to keep in mind:

  • I am an Italian citizen
  • I have 3 years of NCAA eligibility left
  • I’m 20 years old

Out of those three things, the first one is arguably the most important. You see, I love Italy and all…but when it comes to the sport of Track and Field, we suck donkey dick. No offense to the federation or anything, but the level of competitiveness over there is simply far lower than the level of competitiveness in the United States.

What all this means is that I have a wayyyyy bigger shot at qualifying for the national championships in Italy than I do over here. Just to give you an idea, the qualifying standard for the Olympic Trials in the United States in the 800m is 1:46. In Italy it’s 1:51. For those of you not familiar with running times, those are worlds apart.

Yeah, I know…we suck. But !!! I’m not too bummed out because it means I actually have a shot. WOO HOO!

Unfortunately, I must now discuss the realistic side of it: I’m still not close to 1:51. As of right now, my personal best stands a long 7.4 seconds away from that magical 1:51 number. And (once again) for those not familiar with running…that’s a large fucking gap.

*Dragonball Z Voice* But you haven’t seen my final form!

This is where the other two things to keep in mind come into play.

Having 3 years of NCAA eligibility left means I get to train with one of the best middle distance programs in the country. Western Oregon University tears shit apart in middle distances, and I’m lucky enough to train with several All-Americans in the 400, 800, and 1500.

Top that off with the fact that in 4 years I’ll be 24 —aka the prime of my running career—and I think the odds begin to look a little more favorable.

It’s a long shot. It’s a wayyyy long shot. But I believe in myself and stranger things have happened before.

So there, now you know what my goals are. Thus from now on, if you ever run into me (see what I did there?) you can be like, “Hey Krato I read your blog and I totally want you to make it to the 2020 Olympic Trials because you’re awesome and I love you!” And I’ll be like, “Thanks bb xoxo – gossip girl”

Well, I got nothing left to say on this topic. At least for now. I’ll probably talk more about running some other time. Thanks for taking time away from your day to read this. *DJ Khaled Voice* I appreciate you. You smart. You loyal.

Till next time,

Toodaloo

 

Leave a Reply

