Rants

Don’t pretend to be friends with people after they die

To be 100% honest I am disgusted that this topic needs be addressed amongst young people today, but you know me, I’m just out here spitting truth. So here we go.

There is a trend happening around social media where as soon as a teenager dies, the rest of the internet community proceeds to act as if it had been life-long friends with the person all along. (EVEN IF THEY DON’T FUCKING KNOW EACH OTHER ANYMORE!!)

I’ll give you an example:

Billy and Joe rode the bus together in 2nd grade. They knew each other, but they weren’t exactly best buddies. Over time, they became friends with different people and so over middle school and high school they just completely grew apart. Unfortunately, Billy was involved in a car accident their senior year and passed away.

So what does Joe do? He goes through his basement and finds the only picture that exists of him and Billy together and proceeds to put in on every social media site with the caption, “Can’t believe he’s gone. Still remember this day like it was yesterday. I’ll miss all the memories we made together. Rest peacefully, bro.”

Now, my dear Joe…hate to call you out on your bullshit, but I hope you stub your toes on every single corner you walk around for the rest of your life. What memories are you talking about exactly? You don’t even know where the guy sits at lunch and you have the audacity to say “I’ll miss all the memories” as if you gave a shit about him the day before?

I absolutely despise people like Joe, and it is astonishing for me to find out each time a tragedy happens how many “Joe’s” actually exists. It’s disgusting.

Let me spell it out in case you still don’t understand how I feel about this issue:

If you use somebody’s death to gain sympathy likes, I fucking hate you.

Frankly, I believe that social media is not the place for any kind of mourning. For example when it comes to twitter, I just refuse to believe that the loss of a person who matters can be summarized down to 140 characters. So if it were up to me, I would stay away from advertising any sort of loss on social media. However, that is just my opinion and everyone deals with personal losses differently, thus I can’t comment on that particular side of the issue; it’s an entirely different post.

But when it comes to posting about people who everyone knows you were not close with anymore—now for that, you deserve a round house kick to the noggin.

Seriously, what in the world are you thinking? That is so disrespectful on so many levels. If Billy could have come back to life and smacked the shit out of Joe, I’m sure he would have done it.

Then again though, it’s just my opinion. And for everyone who can’t quite grasp that last point, I’ll just leave this here
https://vine.co/v/erLKvmFY3Od/embed/simple?audio=1

Thanks for taking a trip into my brain, and as always

Toodaloo

 

Leave a Reply

