Rants

The (Sad) Truth About Good Will Hunting

It’s Krato with a K! Heeeeeeeeey!

Just the other day I was watching one of my favorite movies, Good Will Hunting, and I kept having a sad realization.

I wanna tell you about that realization and I wanna see if you agree with me or not.

So sit the fuck down, shut the fuck up, and read.

(I mean that in the nicest way possible)

Okay so check this out. I’m gonna be focusing on one scene in particular. For those of you familiar with the movie, it’s the bar scene. For those of you not familiar with the movie, allow me to do the honors:

Chuckie, or Ben Affleck (whatever you wanna refer to him as), goes into a Harvard bar and tries to impress a couple of Harvard chicks by saying that he’s in their history class, when in reality he’s probably a high school drop out. So then this guy comes up an—

Okay wait, I’m dumb. I just realized I can embed the video right here.

So, I mean, this is pretty straight forward. Harvard hot-shot Clark tries to embarrass Ben Affleck by dropping some plagiarized knowledge, which he gained through his over-priced education, and then my boy Matt Damon shows him what’s up.

But here’s the part I wanna focus on:

At the end of the argument, Clark goes, “Yeah, but I will have a degree, and you’ll be serving my kids fries at a drive through on our way to a skiing trip.” And good ole Will replies, “Yeah, that may be. But at least I won’t be unoriginal.”

Here’s what I want you to do. Take this exact argument, and fast-forward it to today’s time.

It is my contention that if that same argument were to take place today between an Ivy League douche and some smart ass who doesn’t go to college, there is no way that “but at least I won’t be unoriginal,” would be a good diss.

Okay, let me make that a little clearer. Let’s say that I’m really smart, but I don’t go to college. And let’s also say that I get in an argument with some Harvard kid who’s on his way to becoming a millionaire off of his plagiarized, over-priced education. If we had the same argument that Clark and Will had at the bar, and my big punchline was “Yeah, but at least I won’t be unoriginal,” I would cause a reaction similar to this:

I’m not saying that it applies to everyone, but come on…there is no way that the majority of college students value originality more than getting rich. It’s a sad realization, but I think it’s an accurate one as well.

If Will said the same thing to a college kid today, chances are, the college kid would probably break out singing, “I BE GETTING DIRTY MONEY JORDAN BELFORT.” Followed by, “Alright, have fun with your originality man, but in 10 years I’ll have some models lick caviar off my balls. Enjoy your broke ass life though.”

College is more expensive today in the United States than it has ever been, yet between 2000 and 2015 the number of college students rose by 5 million. I’m not gonna sit here and say that the ONLY reason is because people strictly want to make money, but it has to be one of, if not THE primary factor.

We’re obsessed with getting rich! In fact, we’re so obsessed with getting rich that most of us don’t give a shit about what we’re learning. Just get us there. Period. I don’t care how you do it. Fuck being original if you broke. Am I right?!?!?

Once again, I’m not saying that everyone thinks that way, but, in my opinion, the vast majority of people do. Which, I mean, that’s nothing new. Humans have been trying to get rich since money has existed, but I guess I wanted to get your wheels turning a little bit. Do you think we care even more about being rich now (as opposed to 20-30 years ago) due to the emergence of social media, which has drastically changed how we view success? Do you think that bar scene would have the same effect on people today, 20 years after it first came out? Or do you think we’re headed too far down a path of “materialism over knowledge” to see the value of originality and education?

Hope this has made you reflect a little bit, and as always,

Toodaloo

 

Leave a Reply

