Rants

New Year’s Resolutions Are Bullshit

Hey y’all, it’s been a while.

I decided to take a break from writing over the holidays just to clear my mind a little bit, but now I’m back at it and I’ve got some truth to spit. Call me Paul Pierce.

Today I’m gonna talk about why New Year’s Resolutions are bullshit. This is really straight forward so I’m not even gonna waste your time with my usual story telling filler.

If you are so weak-minded that you think you actually need a new cycle of the Earth around the Sun in order to make a change in your life, that change will never occur.

Every single day is an opportunity for you to decide who you want to be, what you want to do, etcetera, etcetera. If you wait on the Earth to go in circles before deciding to do all of those things, you are not only missing out on opportunities to make those changes earlier, but you are also becoming a victim of your environment.

Okay, perhaps “victim” is not the appropriate word to use; it’s a little too dramatic. But what I’m trying to say is that you basically become dependent on the world around in order to make changes within you.

And that is just NOT what you want. Plain and simple. You have to grab life by the balls and say, “Life, today I’m gonna make you my bitch.” And then you go out and slay. Slay life. Give life a taste of its own medicine.

Because you know what? Life can be a real bitch sometime. In fact, life can be a bitch a lot of the times. But if you wait on new years to fight back, you just prolong the time that you allow life to be a bitch at you. And who’s the only person to blame at that point? You guessed it, yourself.

I’m not saying that goals are bad. Everyone should have goals. Everyone should want to reach new heights, experience new things, and adopt new lifestyle choices. But it should not take January 1st of every year in order to make that realization.

So get better today, tomorrow, and the day after that, but remain aware of the fact that the ups and downs in our lives are determined by our actions, not the location of our planet in the universe. The whole “Page 1 of 365” thing is crap. I’m on Page 7,201 of my story, but the chapters in my book are not designed to separate one year from another. The moments, people, and lessons that will have ultimately shaped my character at the time of my death will dictate the division of the chapters. But I simply refuse to allow a date to regulate when I can or should make a change in my life.

I would encourage you to do the same.

As always,

Toodaloo

 

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions Are Bullshit

Leave a Reply

